Barbados Wins Five Prestigious Awards at the Travvy Awards 2020 – Silvija Travel Tips

Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. (BTMI) won five accolades at the Travvy Awards 2020. The event is akin to theAcademy Awards of the travel industry, with a black-tie gala to celebrate in all glitz and glamour the movers and shakers of the travel industry. 2020 marks the sixth edition of the prestigious event at the elegant Gotham Hall in New York City.

In 2019, BTMI was victorious in winning three awards including receiving the highest honour as Best Tourism Board Overall (Gold). This year, Barbados returned in force, taking away more awards than ever received in previous years.

While the competition was fierce, Barbados is proud to have won the following awards: Best Luxury Destination – International (Gold), Best Luxury Destination – Caribbean/Bahamas (Silver), Best Wedding Destination – Overall (Silver), Best Tourism Board – Overall (Silver), Best Tourism Board – Caribbean/Bahamas (Silver)

“Last year was the first time we had ever been nominated for the Travvy Awards and we won three awards including Best Tourism Board Overall so this year to have won five awards is simply a wonderful accolade for us,” said Eusi Skeete, Director USA (ag) of BTMI. “We value the Travvy Awards because they are voted on by the travel agency community who actually are the interface between destinations and their customers, and in a year when we have broken yet another record in terms of visitor arrivals from the U.S., this signifies that we are continuing to grow in the right direction.”

The Travvy Awards honour destinations, hotels, cruise lines and airlines, among other industry actors. This year, over 100,000 votes — the largest voting block of agents in history — were cast to determine the 2020 Travvy Awards winners. The event featured many big winners, like Air New Zealand for Best Airline – International and The Bellagio, Las Vegas for Best Luxury Gaming Hotel/Resort – Domestic.

For more information, a breakdown of categories and to view the full list of winners, please visit